

MINUTES OF COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

At an extraordinary Meeting of the Council for the Borough of Slough held at the Council Chamber - Observatory House, 25 Windsor Road, SL1 2EL on Monday, 11th April, 2022 at 7.00 pm

Present:- The Worshipful the Mayor (Councillor Nazir), in the chair; Councillors Ajaib, Akram, Ali, Bal, Bains, Basra, Bedi, Begum, Brooker, Carter, A Cheema, H Cheema, J Davis, Dar, Dhaliwal, Gahir, Gill, Grewal, Hulme, Hussain, Kaur, Kelly, Malik, Mann, Matloob, Mohammad, Muvvala, Pantelic, D Parmar, S Parmar, Qaseem, Sabah, Sandhu, Sharif,

Smith, Strutton, Swindlehurst and Wright

Apologies for Absence:- Councillors Anderson, R Davis and Minhas.

74. Declarations of Interest

Councillor Bal declared that his daughters worked for the Council.
Councillor Brooker declared that he was Vice-Chair of Britwell Parish Council.
Councillor Kaur declared she was a member of Wexham Court Parish Council.
Councillor Mann declared she was Chair of Britwell Parish Council.
Councillor Smith declared he was a member of Colnbrook with Poyle Parish Council.

75. Response to Local Government Boundary Commission for England's Consultation on the Electoral Review of Slough Borough Council's Warding Arrangements

It was moved by Councillor Swindlehurst, Seconded by Councillor Mann,

"That delegated authority be given to the Monitoring Officer to submit a Council response to the LGBCEs first consultation on its electoral review of Slough as set out in section 5 of the report and which specifically proposes:

- (a) That the number of wards of Slough Borough Council be proposed to be 21.
- (b) That the boundaries between the wards be proposed to be those set out in Appendix B, noting that the LGBCE will conduct a second round of consultation following publication of its draft proposals for Slough on 5th July 2022.
- (c) That the names of each new ward be those proposed in paragraph 5.9.
- (d) That the number of councillors elected to each ward be 2.

It was moved by Councillor Smith, as an amendment, Seconded by Councillor Swindlehurst,

"That the proposed revised Haymill ward boundary, as tabled, be agreed."

Council - 11.04.22

The amendment was put to the vote and agreed unanimously and became the substantive recommendation.

It was moved by Councillor Swindlehurst, as an amendment Seconded by Councillor Mann,

"That the proposed revised ward boundaries for Manor Park & Stoke Ward, Baylis & Salt Hill Ward and Chalvey Ward, as tabled, be agreed."

The amendment was put to the vote and agreed unanimously and became the substantive recommendation.

It was moved by Councillor Swindlehurst, as an amendment, Seconded by Councillor Strutton,

"That recommendation (c) as set out in the report, be amended to read that "the names of each new ward be those proposed in paragraph 5.9 but the Council recognises that these are subject to the second round of consultation in July 2022."

The amendment was put to the vote and agreed unanimously and became the substantive recommendation.

The recommendations were put to the vote and agreed unanimously.

- **Resolved** That delegated authority be given to the Monitoring Officer to submit a Council response to the LGBCEs first consultation on its electoral review of Slough as set out in section 5 of the report and which specifically proposes:
 - (a) That the number of wards of Slough Borough Council be proposed to be 21.
 - (b) That the boundaries between the wards be proposed to be those as set out in Appendix B for all wards except Haymill, Manor Park & Stoke, Baylis & Salt Hill Ward and Chalvey; and that the proposed ward boundaries for these wards are as set out in the appendices tabled at the meeting; noting that the LGBCE will conduct a second round of consultation following publication of its draft proposals for Slough on 5th July 2022.
 - (c) That the names of each new ward be those proposed in paragraph 5.9 but the Council recognises that these are subject to the second round of consultation in July 2022.
 - d) That the number of councillors elected to each ward be 2.

Chair

(Note: The Meeting opened at 7.00 pm and closed at 7.23 pm)